Herne Bay Pier is a local landmark full of history, where visitors can enjoy the sights as well as the funfair at the end of the pier, with shops in traditional beach huts on the sides of the pier too, selling everything from toys to food. It is run and managed by the Herne Bay Pier Trust which holds exhibitions, regular events and even weddings. Its rich history started in 1830 when two London businessmen built a landing stage to link to the shore, that was out far enough that in low tide passenger trips could dock at all times, as the town was a popular bathing resort. The wooden pier was completed in 1832 and was an impressive 3613 feet long. A wind-propelled 'train' helped to transport luggage and a record 52,0000 people arrived at the pier in 1842. However, just a decade later the popularity of railways meant only a few boats were visiting and in 1862 it was closed, demolished in 1870/71. A modest wooden 320-foot second pier was built, with a small bandstand erected in the far end, in 1873. In 1891 a temporary wooden landing stage was built at the end and two small paddle steamers, which normally operated pleasure cruises on the Thames, were hired. In 1895 this short pier was rebuilt and so the current, third pier was built. You can see the end part, not connected to the current pier, in the distance. There are plans to extend the pier, though not confirmed that it will be as far as the pier head further out to sea.
There is a wooden picnic bench in the shape of a plane to the east side of the Pier at the entrance to commemorate pilot Amy Johnson, whose plane crashed 12 miles from the Herne Bay coast. A nearby statue has also been erected of her.
Picture Credit: © Herne Bay Pier Trust.