St. Andrews Church was built to serve Gravesend’s waterside community and was consecrated on St Andrew's Day in 1871, according to Discover Gravesham. Inside, the ceiling is constructed to resemble an up-turned boat, Memorials include one to Sir John Franklin's ill-fated Arctic exhibition on board the Erebus and Terror which set out from Gravesend. The primary missionary purpose of the church was transferred to Tilbury when the docks were built, but services continued until 1971 despite ongoing problems with damp. The Diocese of Rochester decided to close the church because of the cost of repairs, but it was rescued and purchased by Gravesham Borough Council in 1975 and transformed into an Arts Centre.

Sign up for regular updates about what’s happening in Kent